University of Florida Homepage

Awards and Fellowships

The Department of History is delighted to have the opportunity to offer the following awards to some of our best undergraduates. For more information about history prizes, see the Undergraduate Coordinator or History Faculty advisors. For information regarding awards that are available to undergraduates at the College, University, or national levels, please feel free to follow the relevant link in the menu bar to the left.

**For 2019-2020, the deadline for all award applications is Friday, 21 February 2020 @ 12:00 noon.**

All applications should be returned to Professor Heather Vrana, Undergraduate Coordinator, Department of History.

Department of History Awards
Bridget Phillips Scholarship
This award is given by the Phillips family in memory of Bridget Phillips, an outstanding graduate of our department in 1988. A cash award is given to an outstanding history major. This may be applied toward tuition for a UF study abroad program or toward overseas research expenses incurred while working on a History Senior Thesis. [Application Form]

2Lt Michael E. McGahan Scholarship
The 2Lt Michael E. McGahan Scholarship is given in memory of 2nd Lieutenant Michael E. McGahan, an outstanding UF student who gave his life fighting in Afghanistan. He took advantage of the University of Florida’s study-abroad opportunities as a participant in the UF History Department’s Summer Program at Cambridge University in England. The History Department holds an annual competition in honor of his memory, in order to offer a talented student a similar opportunity to participate in the UF at Cambridge Program. [Application Form]

Pamela Frank Scholarship
The Pamela Frank Scholarship is given in memory of Pamela Frank, a UF student who died tragically in an automobile accident. Pamela participated in our 2007 program at Cambridge University, and her family has generously allowed the History Department to hold an annual competition in honor of her memory, in order to offer a talented female student a similar opportunity to participate in the UF at Cambridge Program. [Application Form]

Daniel J. Koleos Undergraduate Research Award 
The Daniel J. Koleos Undergraduate Research Award was established in the Fall 2003 and is funded through an endowment provided to the Department from Daniel Koleos, who graduated in 1978 with a BA in history. The awards of at least $1000 are primarily intended for students who are working on their senior theses and need funding to travel to archives and other historical institutions outside Gainesville.

Any junior history major demonstrating academic excellence and seeking funds for conducting research for his/ her senior thesis is eligible. A student receiving the Bridget Phillips Scholarship is not eligible for the Koleos Undergraduate Research Award. [Application Form]

Ann Regan Undergraduate Research Award
The Ann Regan Research Award will be given to a female undergraduate pursuing summer research on an Honors Thesis. Applicants must be enrolled in the History Honors Program. [Application Form]

Michael Hauptman Medal
Contact: Undergraduate Coordinator, Keene-Flint Hall
This medal is sponsored by the parents of Michael Hauptman, who died while a student at UF. It is awarded to an outstanding senior, majoring in history. Nominations must come from a history professor, following which the Undergraduate Coordinator will solicit further materials from the student. Faculty nominations must reach the Undergraduate Coordinator by mid-March.

President’s Scholar Award
The President’s Scholar Award was established in the spring 1992 through an endowment established by Provost Andrew Sorensen. It is awarded to a senior undergraduate student who is studying in the field of Latin American history. Preference is given in the granting of the scholarship to students of African-American and Hispanic descent. Students are nominated by professors in the Latin American history section.